Earth in the Balance

I know this is somewhat of a departure from what I typically blog about, but when this came to my attention, I just couldn’t resist.

As I have frequently stated before, I define myself as a Republican. And if you know a fair amount about American politics, you know that the Republican party is not known for its strong environmentalist stances. That’s a typically Democratic issue. However, I do think there are practical ways to care for the environment. But that’s just it, very few environmentalists are practical.

Case in point: Al Gore, the raving lunatic and popularly-elected President of the United States in the 2000 election (I can’t deny that) has been out and about promoting his new film, An Inconvenient Truth, a film which warns of the imminent danger of global warming. Now, even though Al used to be pro-life and is now pro-choice, he has always been an environmentalist. He wrote a book some years back called Earth in the Balance (hence the title of this blog), and with this movie, he has been really courting the environmentalist crowd. Do I smell a Presidential nomination?

Anyway, I found out yesterday that Al Gore is really promoting the global warming agenda in a big way: he’s putting on a worldwide 24-hour concert. With 100 artists including John Mayer, Corrine Bailey Rae, Snow Patrol, Duran Duran, Fall Out Boy, Foo Fighters, Kelly Clarkson, Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Sheryl Crow. The shows will take place all over the world in England, China, Japan, Brazil, Antarctica, Australia, and South Africa. Now you’re probably thinking, “Wait a second, did he just say ‘Antarctica?'” Yes I did.

Sounds great, huh? Raising awareness for a good cause, putting on incredible concerts with an amazing line-up. This concert could save the world! Or could it make it worse?

Let’s examine what goes into a concert. Well, you have to fly in all these artists (not to mention their road crews and entourages) from around the world to these different locations. That requires a lot of flying, which last time I checked required fuel. Now unless that fuel is corn oil, ethanol, hydrogen, or whatever other alternatives exist, I would think that flying these planes all over the world would be detrimental to the environment. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Next, power sources. You have to generate a VERY significant amount of electricity to put on a concert. So unless this power is coming from windmills, solar power, or half the country of China on stationary bicycles, I would think that this power might come from some ungodly source like say, a nuclear power plant or even a coal power plant.

What about Antarctica? Doesn’t that continent contain polar ice caps? I would think that putting the first rock concert on that continent would be just a little bit harmful. I’m not an environmental scientist, but somebody please tell me if I’m wrong on this so far.

Granted, I don’t believe that global warming is a real problem anyway. But Al Gore does. So why try to create a solution by being part of the “problem?” Personally, I think Al Gore has political motivations. He still has to rebound from the relative obscurity he endured after losing the 2000 election. I mean, did you see the guy? He grew a beard and everything! He probably lived in the rainforest to learn about how important it was or something. I see this concert as no more than a political stunt to see how much attention he can get from it. If you disagree or if you have other facts that I am unaware of, please share them with me.

5 Responses to Earth in the Balance

  1. Scott says:

    Really Kelly Clarkson, Tim McGraw, and Faith Hill?

  2. Gordy! says:

    Counter-intuitive, I like it!

    – Do I think that global warming is a problem? No, I think it’s a lie.
    – Although jets use fuel, I would imagine that flying is still a better mode of transportaion due to the fact that it carries more humans than SUVs do and it involves tradewinds. Also, I don’t think Al Gore is to blame for jets using fuel that’s NOT corn oil or ethanol or whatever, but I see your point nonetheless.
    – If the concert was in Austrailia they could, in theory, power it totally on solar enery. See the new solar tower in Austrailia.
    – Antarctica is lame. Who throws a concert in Antarctica, honestly?!
    – Al Gore is a Mac user. Inconvenient Truth was made using Keynote.

  3. Braden says:

    I’m with you on global warming. I don’t think Al Gore is to blame for jets using regular fuel. I just think that if he were a true environmentalist, he’d be going everywhere in a hydrogen-powered car, a sailboat or a bicycle. And yes, it would be cool if they powered a concert with solar energy in Australia. But that’s a BIG continent and that tower would have to be pretty close I’d think, not to mention the fact that it would have to generate a TON of energy.

    But for the record, I 100% support alternative energy sources. Honestly, if it were cheap enough and possible, I’d power my house on all solar and wind power. I’d save a bunch on my electric bill! Believe it or not, Bush’s house in Crawford, TX is supposedly extremely environmentally friendly. That’s a lot of adverbs.

    So yes, I do think it’s important that we seek out alternative sources of energy. Part of the reason why I want that is so we will not be dependent on foreign oil sources. If we will drill for oil in ANWR, and really step up the development of alternative sources, we could say goodbye to Venezuela and Saudia Arabia. Regardless of what Bush or anyone else says, I believe we should go back to being a self-sufficient nation. But that’s another topic altogether.

  4. Scott says:

    “earth” “smurf” What’s the difference? They are both blue.

  5. Gordy! says:

    Yes, but smurfs aren’t a little bit green.

Leave a Reply

