Thoughts on President Obama’s First Few Days

Most people know what I think of Barack Obama. He’s a liberal Democrat with a record to prove it. So obviously, he and I will disagree on a host of issues. However, I just thought I’d lay out some random observations that I’ve had over the past few days. 

I’m seeing a lot of Bill Clinton in Obama. A lot of his cabinet choices are Clintonian (i.e. Hillary Clinton herself). Like Clinton, I think he, in some ways, tried to campaign as a centrist that reaches across the aisle; not unlike John McCain who did that as a conservative and failed miserably. But I think he will also turn out to be just as liberal as Clinton, if not more so. 

Quite frankly, I see almost a sense of genuineness in Barack Obama. That may come as a shock to those of you who know me. But I get the impression that he truly loves his wife and family. With Bill Clinton, everything about his marriage seemed politically motivated to me. It was like watching two leech-like creatures living in some type of strange symbiotic political relationship. Obama’s not like that at all. If it’s all an act, he’s sure got me fooled. 

As much as I loathe many of the things that President Obama stands for, I have to remind myself that he is in a position of authority. He holds one of the most important offices in the world. As an American, I must respect that office. As a Christian, I must respect and honor his authority. 

But, as Christ commanded us to render unto Caesar what is Caesar’s (Matthew 22:21) and Peter tells us to honor the emperor (1st Peter 2:17), I am also reminded that unlike the first century A.D., we live in a democratic society where people are allowed to choose the highest office in the land. 

You see, Barack Obama would exist with his political stances whether or not people chose to vote for him. There will always be people that hold viewpoints like his. So in the U.S.A., perhaps my frustration should not be with Barack Obama as much as it is the people that voted him into office: the people that were swayed by the sweet notions of “Change You Can Believe In” and the mindless, incessant chanting of “Yes We Can!” 

Honestly, Barack Obama will bring change. That’s a fact. He has already signed an executive order to lift the ban on funding for abortions performed overseas. He has promised to allow homosexuals to serve openly in the U.S. Military, which is something that Bill Clinton would not even do. And should it pass, Obama has vowed to sign the Freedom of Choice Act, giving women the right to terminate their pregnancy at any stage.

So, Obama voters, you’re getting your change…and much earlier than I had expected. I must say, I even agreed with the President’s decision to freeze the salaries of White House workers making over $100,000 a year. 

Like I said, I respect the office of the President. I respect the authority that goes with it. I respect President Barack Obama as a fellow human being and as the leader of our great nation. I would even say that his Presidency has already brought a strong sense of optimism to this country. 

But…

I believe that if I have every right to support the good he has brought, I also have the right to oppose the evil that he brings to America. That’s right, I said evil. I believe that the murder of an unborn child for the sake of convenience is nothing but wrong and ungodly. I believe that the practice of homosexuality is unnatural and opposed by God. 

I will not forget what his man stands for. No matter what wonders he works for our country in other areas, and I do truly hope he does, I will not sweep these moral issues under the rug. I will not abandon my principles because some politician managed to win an election based on style over substance, ignorance over issues and eloquence over ideals. 

So as Christ and Peter honored and acknowledged a morally reprehensible Caesar as leader of the land, I honor and acknowledge Barack Obama as President of the United States. But unlike them, I have the opportunity to vote out my leader in four years.

2 Responses to Thoughts on President Obama’s First Few Days

  1. Gordy says:

    Good thoughts, Braden.

    While our stances on abortion being bad are the same, I still have some questions.
    1. How long did we have a Republican President?
    2. How long did we have a Republican Congress?
    3. Concerning abortion; what was actually done to stop it?

    By the way, these questions aren’t sponsored by an attitude of any sort. I’m actually asking them. Just thought I’d clear that one up before someone thought I was being snappy or something.

    Peace

  2. Braden says:

    I’m glad you asked. The Republicans regained control of Congress in 1994 but we had a Democratic President until 2001. We had a Republican President and Congress for 6 years (2001-2007). That leaves a window of 6 years for any progress to be made to stop abortion. While obviously nothing monumental occurred during that time (i.e. the Human Life Amendment), many positive strides were made in this area including:

    The Child Interstate Abortion Notification Act, several bills concerning partial-birth abortion, and legislation that kept abortion from being federally funded.

    Here’s an article where the President of NARAL reports that Bush did a lot of “damage” to the pro-choice movement: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122947155578512197.html?mod=googlenews_wsj

    Bush wasn’t necessarily the super pro-life champion we wanted. But he was pro-life enough to make some reasonable accomplishments in that area. Although he did appoint solid constructionist Supreme Court justices that I believe are probably pro-life. Considering that Democrats have controlled Congress for the better part of the last 36 years (since Roe v. Wade), it has been virtually impossible to get any legislation through that would limit abortion. Six years of a Republican White House and Congress wasn’t enough to undo abortion-on-demand completely. But I think it’s safe to say that there was progress made, progress that Obama is currently undoing. I’d also like to point out that the Republican majority was paper-thin and therefore they couldn’t pass anything too terribly major without expecting a filibuster from the Democrats.

    You see, at this point we have to look at what the Democrats are actively doing to make abortion readily accessible and to make it federally funded. FOCA is probably the biggest pro-choice achievement since Roe v. Wade. If it is passed, I don’t think a 6 year window of a Republican President and Congress could undo it. It’s just that bad.

    So, considering we had 6 years out of a 36 year time span, I’d say we did a decent job. Granted, we could have done more, but if you figure in the ways we were limited, I’d say we did quite a good bit. Besides, it would take an actual judicial case in the Supreme Court to overturn Roe v. Wade, something that could happen under any administration. No President or Congress can do that. So, I’m proud of what Republicans were able to accomplish. I wish they had done more, but I’ll take the little they accomplished over the enormously terrible things the Democrats would have done during those years.

Leave a Reply

